Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

So, I’m losing my mind…

on April 22, 2010

This morning I loaded up the kids and headed to Wal-Mart for my weekly Wal-Mart trip.  It took a little bit longer than I had anticipated (but it always takes longer than I anticipate – so does that really count as taking longer?  I don’t know.)  Anyway, James helped me put all of our items on the conveyor belt and the lady was almost finished ringing me up when I went to get my wallet.  It was gone.  Not “stolen” gone, rather, “not where it was supposed to be” gone.  I knew exactly where it was, on the mantle in my living room.  But it wasn’t doing me much good there.  I sheepishly told the cashier that I had no money with me.  She was kind enough to put my items aside, until I could call for back-up.  Brandon took his lunch break and came to bail me out at Wal-Mart.  I didn’t feel too bad since it was actually lunch time (see, I was there MUCH longer than anticipated), but I still felt a little bit like an idiot.  We loaded the groceries up and I headed home.

Later this afternoon, we loaded up again and headed to Payless for some shoe shopping – that’s a whole different story – and to Target to try to find a bottle Katie might actually take – we’re keeping our fingers crossed.  Anyway, there I was in the shoe store, trying shoes on James (by the way, I found out his shoes are about 2.5 sizes too small, no wonder neither of us liked shoving them on), I in my awesome “Psych” t-shirt, him in his pajamas (he insisted), slippers (none of his other shoes fit anymore) and his sunglasses (apparently he is famous and doesn’t want to be recognized).  The people in the shoe store had been very helpful, which was great, but made me feel like even more of an airhead when I went for my wallet and realized that yet again, I had not replaced it in the diaper bag.  By that point, Katie was crying about her stinky diaper, and James (the celebrity) was wearing his new shoes (the only way I could convince him to get back in the stroller).  So, I had to ask yet another cashier to set my purchase aside until I could return with money.  I had to pull James’ new shoes off his feet, which he was devastated about, and walk out of the store with what little dignity I had left.  I returned later to prove that I really did have to money to buy those shoes.  It was a little bit humiliating to walk out earlier empty handed.  I don’t know where my brain has been lately, but hopefully I get it together soon.  Maybe I should go put my wallet in the diaper bag right now, maybe right after I eat some ice cream… 🙂

4 responses to “So, I’m losing my mind…

  1. Oh, sister. You are hilarious. 🙂

  2. sarahdellie says:

    Hang in there, my friend. We all have those days, I promise. 🙂 And at the end of the day, you still have all your groceries, new shoes and a bowl of ice cream. I would consider that a success.

  3. allen says:

    oh mandy! how funny! But when I have found myself in to positions funny is the last thing I think of! luv ya!

  4. Great Story. I know how you feel. It’s been two years since Erica has been born and I still feel like my head isn’t screwed on stright. Sonething about having that second child that makes your brain stop functioning.

Leave a Reply

