Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wal-Mart Trip

on June 15, 2011

I do not recommend doing any kind of serious grocery shopping with my children.  Well, maybe with Shawn, because he’ll just sleep through the whole thing.  But James and Katie?  No way!  Why I feel like it’s a good idea to shop with all of them in the first place is beyond me – must be the lack of sleep deprivation.  The last time we went though, it wasn’t so bad, today, however, was a different story.  I believe the problem really came from the fact that I put Shawn’s car seat in the front and James and Katie in the basket.  They make a bit of a mischeivious team anyway, add to that the fact that I cannot see past Shawn’s enormous car seat and trouble is born.  I tried to be on top of things, I brought water and snacks to keep them occupied, but unfortunately I had to take away those distractions within the first five minutes.  Why, you ask?  Because James was spitting his water on Katie and Katie was throwing her animal crackers out of the cart.  At least we know she’s ready for her flower girl duties for Rachel’s wedding.  Once their snacks and water were gone, they were left with no choice but to play with the items in the cart.  By “play with” I mean crush, stand on and bite.  Yes, bite.   As the lady at the checkout scanned my bag of tortillas, with James-sized bites taken out of them through the plastic, she held them up and asked me if they were like that when I got them.  I really wanted to look shocked and say, “Oh no!  You must have mice in your bread aisle!”  But I simply pointed to my cart full of children and she nodded in understanding.  Next time, I’m going when they’re in bed.

Notice the bite marks – I couldn’t make this stuff up if I tried!!

2 responses to “Wal-Mart Trip

  1. Sarah Dell says:

    OH my gosh! This is hilarious! I am so sorry, Mandy. Yes, definitely go when they are sleeping. 🙂

  2. Sandy says:

    It appears that our poor sweet grandchildren were just hungry :-). After all, you did remove their snacks before they finished them.

Leave a Reply

