Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cupcake Wars

on July 2, 2011

My friend Robin, the one who made James’ Birthday Cake, did a cake decorating class at our church a couple of weeks ago.  We had to bring a dozen cupcakes to decorate and a vat of butter cream icing.  Since I figured I’d just make it the night before, and I knew that evenings were a little crazy for me, I invited Steph to come over so we could make them together (she was going to the class too).  She knew I was really asking her to come make them, while I chatted with her and fed Shawn, but she’s a good sport so she agreed to come anyway.  What ensued was one of the more hilarious evenings of our lives as sisters…

First of all, I was on the phone when she came over, and she didn’t want to wait for me to be done, so she took some unflattering pictures of me on the phone (see below), and then jumped right in.

I had talked her into using a box mix because she had a recipe that added a few items to a box mix to make it moister or fluffier or more likely to be iced well, or something like that.  So I bought the extra ingredients – like buttermilk and extra eggs – and she went to town.  I think she had 2 dozen cupcakes baking by the time I got off the phone.  (We decided to make a dozen vanilla and a dozen chocolate to take and a dozen of each to keep for ourselves, so we had to make 4 dozen cupcakes and she was in a hurry!)  We put them all in at once, hoping to save time, and I do not think that was a good idea.  It took forever for them to bake and when we pulled them out they had all exploded.  They were definitely not picture perfect cupcakes, but we were planning to ice them, so we thought maybe it would be ok, until we tasted them.  They were not so good.  Luckily it was late, and we were slap happy, so we found the whole situation amusing.  There was lots of laughing going on from us, and crying from Shawn, so we made a new plan that involved feeding the baby and putting him in bed, and starting all over baking from scratch.  Steph found a recipe from the Pioneer Woman, that I actually had the ingredients for, and we kicked it into high gear.  She made the cupcake batter and I worked on the icing.  (Sidenote: the icing is a very simple, three step recipe that took me the entire evening to complete, due to feeding Shawn, chatting with Steph and running around the kitchen finding ingredients for our time sensitive batter.)  We felt like we were on an episode of Cupcake Wars as we trashed (not really, we saved them for our husbands to eat) a batch and started over in a huge rush so we could go to bed at a decent hour.  Unfortunately, I had only bought 50 cupcake liners, so we were out by the time we made the good batch.  So, those looked good, but wouldn’t come out of the pan nicely despite the river of Pam I sprayed in each cup.  But seeing as it was almost eleven, we decided to call it good and use those cupcakes.  The icing was done, and I figured since it was made mostly of butter, it should be refrigerated.  After making room in the fridge and gathering all the cupcakes, we parted ways for the evening.

The story doesn’t end there, however, now on to the day of the class.  Once I got all three children wrangled and into the car, then the nursery, I headed for class.  Whereupon I found out that you are not supposed to refrigerate butter cream icing because it gets hard and you cannot use it to ice cupcakes until it thaws.  Luckily, the coordinator for the class was smart enough to make enough to share, so I put a huge glob on the lid of the Classic Batter Bowl that I brought my unusable icing in, and got down to business coloring it.  I went with blue, but I was laughing so hard I could not effectively mix it, so Steph, who was holding Shawn, traded and tried to get a nice blue.  We didn’t like the shade of blue, so we added some yellow, thinking we would get purple.  No, people, blue and yellow make green, so that’s what we ended up with!  A very pretty shade of teal, actually.  After we learned how to make our cupcakes into flowers, we tried our hand at it.  I think they would have looked better if we could have held them while we iced them, but they were sticking to the container, so we just left them in there.  Overall, it was a great class, and an even better memory!!

The finished products

Do I even need to explain this one?!

2 responses to “Cupcake Wars

  1. papa allen says:

    Thank you for the laugh, fond memories for sure! You can even count on more laughs in the future as you look back on this fun event.

  2. Steph says:

    Fun times, for sure! That was ridiculous…….but we’ll have to do it again sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

