Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Katie

on February 9, 2012

Katie, my precocious, fiercely independent, always on the go little girl, has run into something that’s slowing her down.  She’s been having a hard time communicating.  Now, for those of you who know Katie, it hasn’t really showed her down that much, because that’s pretty impossible to do.  But she is starting to get more and more frustrated when we can’t understand what she’s trying to say.  It’s actually a little humorous to watch, she’ll get so mad she’ll shake and sometimes she’ll throw herself onto the floor, in true dramatic fashion, and just cry.

Being the conscientious parents that we are, we took her to be evaluated to see if she needs speech therapy.  When I took her to the evaluation I wasn’t sure if I wanted them to validate the frustration we’ve been having with communicating and tell me she needs therapy or if I wanted to feel kind of silly and have them tell me she was fine.  The evaluation was great – it was mostly playing – and at the end they concluded that she did need therapy.  And a part of me was heartbroken.  Which was ridiculous, I know, because I’m the one who thought she needed it in the first place.  But there was something that make me so sad to look at her evaluation paperwork and see the words “Significantly delayed” under her Speech Development.

I guess there’s just a part of every mom that wants our kids to be perfect.  To protect them from illness, or mean kids, or even speech disorders.  There’s a commercial on PBS that has a mom talking about how she felt when her son was diagnosed with Asbergers Syndrome.  She’s saying that when she found out, her husband said – “We already love him, now we know how to love him better.”  I thought about that, and while I realize Katie’s speech issures aren’t really all that bad – I’m glad we’ll be learning how to communicate with her, how to help ease her frustration – how to love her better.

Today was her first session with the speech thereapist.  And, although she appears to only be 12 years old (man, I’m getting old if I’m saying that!) she seems like a Godsend.  Someone who is really compassionate, kind and patient.  Who knows how to unlock the words in Katie’s head.  And, boy, am I looking forward to hearing what Katie has to say!!

 

3 responses to “Katie

  1. Papa allen says:

    Beautifully written; ohhhhh she’ll be talking!!!! Love ya ms Katie!

  2. nana sandy says:

    Can’t wait to meet the words of our precious GRANDdaughter

  3. Sarah says:

    I love this. I can’t wait to hear what she has to say! It will be magical. 🙂

Leave a Reply

