Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

So, twins….

on September 23, 2012

Many of you may have noticed my absence from blogging has coincided almost exactly with us finding out we are pregnant with twin girls.  I think that’s because I have been in shock for the past 7 1/2 months!  Not really, I just thought that was a good excuse.  But seriously, it’s been a bit of a mind bender, adjusting to the fact that our 4th and final baby will be a 4th and 5th.  Luckily God knew finding out this information blind might give me a heart attack, so He gave me a few clues along the way.  When we were trying and weren’t quite sure if we were pregnant yet, but suspected we were, a friend, Beth, wrote on my Facebook page, “I had a dream that you were pregnant with twins.”  I read that post and said something intelligent to the computer, like, “Shut your mouth!”  I take pregnancy dreams very seriously, since someone has had a dream about at least two of our three kids.  Then, when we knew we were pregnant but hadn’t been to the doctor yet, we asked James if he thought it would be a boy or a girl and he said, “A boy and a girl”  (Which the ultrasounds have disproved a boy and a girl, but it’s not like that’s an exact science…)  And, we wanted to make a bib for Shawn to wear to announce our pregnancy to my family, the design we picked was too elaborate and we had to simplify, but it said “There’s always room for one more” and was originally a mama pig surrounded by her five babies.  We decided to just leave one out, but I jokingly told my mother-in-law that if we sent her a picture of the pattern that would mean we were pregnant with twins.  She got a picture of the pattern.  All of that led me to suspect we might actually be pregnant with twins, so when she pointed them out at my first appointment, I did not fall off the table 🙂  So that’s our twin story for now.  With the pregnancy winding down, I know our lives are about to change forever.  And I imagine I’ll have plenty of stories to share, that is, if you want to hear them.  I’ll try to be better about keeping up with this blog.  Thanks for sharing our life 🙂

Leave a Reply

