Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Super Glue Incident

on September 29, 2014

The other day I touched my kitchen island and ended up with a sticky thumb and finger.  Shocking, I know.  Luckily I realized right away that it was leftover super glue from Brandon’s failed attempt at gluing Barbie’s shoes to her feet.  Once the realization hit me I made sure not to get my thumb and finger glued together, but rather decided to let them dry and then attempt to remove the glue with nail polish remover.  Apparently that works to get them unstuck but doesn’t actually get the glue off your fingers.  After wiping my thumb and finger numerous times with a nail polish remover soaked cotton ball my sweet husband, who apparently runs into this problem at work, said it would take some time for it to wear off.  I told him that was unacceptable.  Because, you see, I could still feel the super glue on my fingers.  Not sticky, just different.  A layer of glue.  It didn’t feel right and I kept rubbing my fingers together- hoping to somehow wear it back to normal.  I almost couldn’t stop doing it, couldn’t stop thinking about it, couldn’t stop being bothered by it.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit this, but I even started tearing up a little.  Not so much about the glue, although that was obviously annoying, but because I just wanted to have a normal reaction.  I was able to move on after several minutes but it made me wonder if that’s how Shawn feels with his sensory processing issues.  If he doesn’t feel right unless he’s jumping or pushing on you with his feet.  If he can’t stop feeling out of control until you give him a big squeeze.  And if that’s how he feels, then no wonder he reacts to things the way he does.  It made me much more empathetic to my little guy.  Who knew some super glue on my counter could give me so much insight?!

Leave a Reply

