Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

His Power Is Made Perfect In Our Weakness

on April 3, 2015

We sat chatting in her van outside Village Inn.  Our pie was finished hours ago, but we didn’t want to waste our precious moments of uninterrupted grown up talk, so we stayed.

I had just shared about how we were trying to potty train Katie at night.  That morning I had asked her if her pull-up was dry, she paused for a minute then replied, “Not anymore!!”  I sighed and wondered out loud what I was going to do with her.  And my dear, sweet friend whispered in the silence, “Mandy, your kids are hard.”  Tears sprang to my eyes and I almost lost it.  Not because her words hurt my feelings; quite the opposite, it validated them.

I have spent most of motherhood trying to figure out how to do it right, and failing more often then I care to admit.  I always think it’s because there’s something wrong with me.  And sometimes, that is absolutely the case, but sometimes I think it’s so difficult because my kids are hard.  They’re wonderful, and sweet and hilarious, but they’re also mischievous, and sassy and more energetic than should be legal.

But really, aren’t most kids that way?  Even knowing that, though, how often do we sweep that away and think we should just be doing a better job?  I’ve cried with other mom’s over potty training and figuring out how to get our kids to sleep through the night because we just need rest.  We feel like somehow it’s our fault that our kids aren’t turning out perfect, when in reality it’s that this mothering thing is harder than we realize.  And we often don’t give ourselves enough credit for doing the best we can.

I was talking to my husband about all this the other day, and asking him why he thought God would give me these kids I obviously can’t handle.  His gentle answer (which irritated me at the time, but was actually very wise), was that maybe it was so I would rely on God more, and turn to Him in my weakness.

This verse really says it all.  Paul has been pleading with God to take a hardship away from him, but God says no.  Paul tells us about God’s response in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

I choose to boast as well.  So that others won’t see merely a mom who struggles, but rather a woman who turns to God in her struggles, knowing that’s the only way to make it through.  I hope you do the same.

One response to “His Power Is Made Perfect In Our Weakness

  1. Amanda Schaad says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for being someone with whom others can cry. I don’t think you know how much of a gift that is. And thank you for being someone who always points people back to the Light. Because in my hardest mommy moments, that’s what you’ve done for me. Keep writing, keep mommying, keep being beautiful you ❤

Leave a Reply

