Smith Silliness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Reflections on May

on May 26, 2017

I’m sitting here, reflecting on all that’s happened this week.  The preschoolers that I’ve taught all year graduated on Tuesday.  My nephew  graduated from preschool on Wednesday.  Shawn’s last day of kindergarten was yesterday; James and Katie’s last day of school (3rd and 1st grade) is today.  And my niece graduates from high school this morning.  So much change, so many feelings.

I am blessed beyond measure to work at a job that’s more fun than work.  Where I get hugs and listen to sweet giggles and watch little ones learn so much on a daily basis.  Where my coworkers are the very best ladies anyone could ask to work with and the kiddos are amazing.

And so, having now been a teacher for two years and a parent for nine, this time of year has taught me some important things.

First of all, as a parent, I want to say to those of you who teach, I believe that you may never realize the enormous impact you have had on the lives of my children, but I pray that you do.  I pray that you know how their faces light up when they talk about you.  How much they care about what’s going on in your lives.  How happy and loved you make them feel.  One of our favorite teachers is moving away this summer and when I was telling my daughter she burst in tears – the ugly cry variety – because she will miss her so much.  Teachers, please, don’t think for a moment that what you do goes unnoticed and that hearts and lives aren’t changed because of you.

And secondly, as a teacher, parents please know that in the short time we have your children as our students we grow to love them with all of our hearts.  We love listening to their stories and watching them create works of art and learn how to be good friends and take care of each other.  Know that we look forward to seeing them each morning and that when you shed happy tears at their graduation program, we’re shedding them too.  Even though we’re only in their lives for such a short time we are so thankful to be a part of their journey.

May brings with it so much bittersweet – the joy and anticipation of summer and the future, the sorrow of leaving another school year, friends and classmates behind.  But change, no matter how painful, is always necessary.  And oftentimes, can be wonderful – just ask the butterfly who was once a caterpillar.

One response to “Reflections on May

  1. Rose Teague says:

    Love this!

Leave a Reply

